Malta Citizenship by Individual Investor Program

Posted by Herald Land
October 4, 2017 | Citizenship by Investment


Centrally situated in the Mediterranean Sea, Malta is located south of Sicily and North of the African coast of Libya. A former UK colony, Malta became its own republic in 1974 and retained membership in the Commonwealth.

Malta has been a member of the European Union since 2004 and is also part of the Schengen agreement.

EU Citizenship by Investment

EU Citizenship through the Maltese program provides 160 visa-free travel destinations, including the United States and Canada. A Maltese residence status is required in the 12 month period immediately along with the required investment before the certificate of naturalisation is provided.

Register your details & one of our investment consultants will contact you shortly.


  • Visa-free travel to over 160 countries worldwide including United States and Canada.
  • EU free movement of goods, services and capital in all 28 EU countries.
  • Maltese Citizens not domiciled in Malta are taxable on a remittance basis.
  • No wealth, inheritance, or gift tax.


  • €650,000 non returnable contribution to National Development and Social Fund for the main applicant plus €25,000 for spouse and each dependent under 18 (€50,000 for each dependent aged 18-25).
  • A residential property amounting to €350,000 (plus VAT if applicable), which must be maintained for a minimum of 5 years.
  • Government-approved €150,000 investment in Applicant must make a finance product which must be maintained for a minimum of 5 years.